The Wayne College Regional Writing Awards seek to encourage and recognize excellence in creative writing in the Wayne College region.

These writing awards are open to writers in the Wayne College region. Wayne College employees and their immediate families are not eligible to submit to the Wayne College Regional Writing Awards.

Writers may submit work in all three categories. There is an entry fee for each category.  Please see the entry form form for more details.

Judging for the Wayne College Regional Writing Awards will be done by members of the Wayne College Creative Writing Project Advisory committee. Their decisions are final.

Regional Writing Awards 2019-2020 ENTRY FORM (PDF)

Regional Writing Awards writer

Important Dates

  • Dec. 13, 2019, 4:00 p.m. (Friday) - Deadline for submissions
  • March 2020 - Winners announced in early March.
    Winners will be asked to submit their winning entries in electronic format at this time.
  • To be Announced -  Awards ceremony at Wayne College
Up to three awards in each category
1st - $100.00
2nd - $75.00
3rd - $50.00

Short Story
1st - $100.00
2nd - $75.00
3rd - $50.00

1st - $100.00
2nd - $75.00
3rd - $50.00

See the 2019-2020 edition of the Student/Regional Writing Awards (PDF)

Regional Writing Award Winners 2019-2020

Regional Poetry Place Name of Piece
Joseph Cheslock First At 4:00 A.M.
Patricia Warner Second Bass Idyll
Neil Marks Third Autumn in a Single Tree
Lisa Pelfrey Honorable Mention Trajectory
Regional Nonfiction Place Name of Piece
Mary Ann Lieser First Postcards From the
Dottie Sines Second Back When People Wrote
David Agard Third Hattie Gets New Shoes
Becky Soehnlen Honorable Mention Can’t Stop the Rain
Regional Story Place Name of Piece
Dottie Sines First To Shine
Joseph Cheslock Second The Accident
Daniel Holderman Third Lights in the Night Sky