The Wayne College Writer of the Year award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement(s) or for a writer's body of work. Writers who reside in Wayne, Holmes, or Medina counties are eligible for this recognition. Anyone may nominate a writer, or a writer may self-nominate.

2013-14 Writer of the Year - Chip Gross

The winner will receive a distinctive award and $500.

Nominated writers may be engaged in, but not limited to, the following genres of writing:

  • Poetry
  • Short Story
  • Nonfiction
  • Newspaper
  • Magazine
  • Novel

Wayne College employees and their immediate family members may be nominated for this award.

Judging for the WAYNE COLLEGE Writer of the Year will be done by members of the Wayne College Writing Project Advisory committee. Their decision is final.

Award will be presented at the Wayne College Writers Workshop.

Writer of the Year Nomination Form (PDF)

Important Dates

  • Dec. 12, 2014, 4:00 p.m. (Friday) - Deadline for nominations.
  • April 11, 2015 (Saturday) – Writer of the Year announced at the Wayne College Writers Workshop. 
The Prize!
The Writer of the Year will receive a distinctive award and $500.

Writer of the Year

Writer of the Year writer

The University of Akron Wayne College

1901 Smucker Road, Orrville, OH 44667
Phone: 330-683-2010
Toll Free: 1-800-221-8308
Contact us